SURRENITY- R&B’s NEW SONGBIRD

ANTI-SOCIAL MARKETING
4 min readApr 3, 2023

--

Memphis born Author, Artist, and Songwriter

Surrenity is a buzzing R&B songstress born in South Memphis and now resides in the Atlanta, Georgia Area. The heartfelt songwriter has a strong soulful voice and a beautiful story of love, and heartbreak to tell through her music. In 2022 she dropped a catchy single titled “ Insecure ” which has been making waves since its release on major streaming platforms. Today we get to know the independent artist behind the uproar and find out what her dreams, inspirations and future goals are.

Questions and Answers with Surrenity.

Q. What inspired you to write this song?

A. I was on the phone with a great friend of mine and she was venting about this guy she’d been seeing and how he was playing with her emotions. I could resonate with it and I could hear the hurt in her voice as a woman myself, I knew how some men or women could take you through the mud and have you questioning yourself. Even the most confident person will look in the mirror to question the physical, emotional, etc when it comes to love that’s not reciprocal. The next morning I decided to journal and the first two bars hit me like a ton of bricks.”

.

Q. Can you tell us a little about the creative process behind the song?

A. “ There wasn’t much to the process outside of me sitting in my room looking out the window with headphones in the mic on record with a pen and my favorite journal. When I write, I must be in solitude, especially for a song so raw and vulnerable as “INSECURE”. My mind was clear and my heart was open and I just channeled the energy that I wanted this song to portray.

Q. What message do you hope listeners take away from the song?

A. I can only hope that I made people feel. Like it’s more than a catchy hook and bars, it's someone’s inner voice that they don’t give the mic to. That voice that’s inside speaking your truth and not that mask that a lot of people wear. Everybody had been insecure before and I just want listeners to feel and understand that it's okay, but don’t stay there too long because you’re worth more than what you may be settling for. That goes for love and everything else.

Q. How do you feel about the song now that it’s been released to the public?

A. “ I feel good and relieved. It’s been a journey and a big accomplishment for me to be open and vulnerable enough to release my art to the world. I’m an artist in many forms and I can admit that I can be sensitive about my craft and what I create. However, I feel excited to create more and let people into who I am as a person and an artist.

Q. How does this song fit into your overall musical style or genre?

A. “ I like to describe my music style as sexy, raw, spiritual, and authentic. I'm a lover of all kinds of music so I don’t put myself in a box, but this song fits into the unorthodox box of Surrenity. Soulful, yet I’m dropping bars like I’m a rapper. So, I guess that would be the genre, trap soul.

Q. How do you typically approach writing and recording music?

A. “ I love to write in solitude. I love being with my thoughts and feelings to channel that voice that needs to be released. I’m the type that walks around my house with headphones and beats playing on repeat and melodies flowing through my head with a pen and my journal or just recording the different melodies I find. For me, it's about finding this certain feeling or vibe that speaks to who I am as a person. I think of what I see around me, what I’ve experienced, or what I’d like to experience and I channel that.

Q. Can you tell us about any upcoming projects or collaborations that you’re excited about?

A. “ Yes! I’m currently working on my EP which will be my first complete body of work. I’m so excited! You can expect a story or a full-on Surrenity experience. You’re destined to feel, dance, twerk, and all lol. No box will go unchecked with this project and I am so elated to share it with the world.

Q. What advice do you have for aspiring singers or musicians?

A. “ My advice would be to not overthink, just feel and put the music out. Sometimes as artists we are so hard on ourselves and critique ourselves in many ways and aspects that may not even be valid. Stay true to yourself, be authentic and have fun and be open to the journey. Most importantly, don’t stop creating. The world needs your story.

Stay Up To Date And Connnected To Surrenity On Social Media

Instagram- @iamsurrenity

--

--